Upcycled Albums

Everything old is new again when you take your old lps and stick them in the oven. My husband has converted most of his albums to cd’s (purchased not recorded) and has given me his old albums to dispose of as I see fit.  So I decided to upcycle these into bowls ( upcycle definition http://casasugar.com/600374 ).

First try at melted album bowl.

First try at melted album bowl.

Well this was not my husband’s music and I could not tell you how we came to own this record, but who wants to melt vintage Blood, Sweat & Tears unproductively? So when I found these classical Funk and Wagnall (what? I thought they did encyclopedias back in the 60’s) records that no one would miss, I used them for my initial trial at this new art form.

What I discovered is you have to play with time and temperature and if you have the convection option: to convect or not to convect that’s the big question! Then what to use as your mold? It took several bowls from my cupboard, 6 or more various temperatures, many meltings and re-meltings to come up with the bowl you see here. Turns out melted vinyl albums create a very forgiving sculptors medium.

Now I realize this bowl doesn’t look so great in this photo. So I guess a disclaimer is in order,” Items in photos look better than pictured here.”  Perhaps my next entry will discuss how to photograph these great bowls to showcase their beauty. Probably won’t, so just trust me and if you have some old vinyl lps, free time and need a bowl? Then turn on your exhaust fan, open your windows, start with 150 degree preheated oven and upcycle yourself one!

MommaOh!

1 Comment

Filed under Upcycling

One response to “Upcycled Albums

  1. neeroc

    What a fantastic idea! It reminds me of slumped glass, but without the need for a kiln. I so have to try this.

    neeroc

Leave a Reply

